country_fm: page_travel_title Countries_World > oceania > country_fm

Worldwide travel and language community
Learn Languages FAST!     Learn SPANISH!     Learn FRENCH!     Learn ITALIAN!     Learn CHINESE!


The Federated States of Micronesia made up of four states from west to east: Yap, Chuuk Pohnpei and Kosrae. It comprises approximately 607 islands.

While the FSM's total land area is quite small, amounting to approximately 702 km2, it occupies more than 2,600,000 km2 of the Pacific Ocean.

The capital is Palikir located on Pohnpei Island, the largest city being Weno located in the Chuuk Atoll

Each of its four states is centered around one or more main high islands, and all but Kosrae include numerous outlying atoll . The Federated States of Micronesia is spread across part of the Caroline Islands in the wider region of Micronesia, which consists of thousands of small islands divided between several countries. The term Micronesia may refer to the Federated States or to the region as a whole.

The FSM was formerly a part of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (TTPI), a United Nations Trust Territory under U.S. administration, but it formed its own constitutional government on May 10, 1979, becoming a sovereign state after independence was attained on November 3, 1986 under a Compact of Free Association with the United States. Other neighboring island entities, and also former members of the TTPI, formulated their own constitutional governments and became the Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI) and the Republic of Palau (ROP). The FSM has a seat in the United Nations.
view_member_country_from country_fm

view_member_country_living country_fm

page_country_forum_latest country_fm

© 2019 ALOOHA
lang_eng  lang_deu  

Languages: lang_cmn lang_spa lang_eng lang_deu lang_fra lang_ita
Countries: country_us country_in country_cn country_jp country_de country_fr country_gb country_it country_es
Learning: Flashcards European Capitals Sinhala Basics Spanische Monatsnamen