country_ye: page_travel_title Countries_World > asia > country_ye

Worldwide travel and language community
Learn Languages FAST!     Learn SPANISH!     Learn FRENCH!     Learn ITALIAN!     Learn CHINESE!

country_ye (Flag)

The Republic of Yemen (الجمهورية اليمنية‎) is a country located in Western Asia, occupying the southwestern to southern end of the Arabian Peninsula. It is bordered by Saudi Arabia to the north, the Red Sea to the west, and Oman to the east. Yemen is considered one of the poorest countries in the Arab world.

Its capital and largest city is Sana a.

Yemen's territory includes over 200 island , the largest of which is Socotra about 354 km to the south of mainland Yemen. It is the only state in the Arabian Peninsula to have a purely republican form of government. Yemen was the first country in the Arabian peninsula to grant women the right to vote. Yemeni unification took place on 22 May 1990, when North Yemen was united with South Yemen, forming the Republic of Yemen.

The majority of Yemen's population is divided into tribal groups, especially in the northern areas of the country where 85% of local residents belong to various tribes There are also small groups of peoples of Turkish Ottoman and possibly Veddoid origin in urban areas. The Majority of the population are Sunni Muslim following the Shafi i school with a large minority adhering to the Zaidiyyah Islam c jurisprudence.
view_member_country_from country_ye

view_member_country_living country_ye

page_country_forum_latest country_ye

© 2019 ALOOHA
lang_eng  lang_deu  

Languages: lang_cmn lang_spa lang_eng lang_deu lang_fra lang_ita
Countries: country_us country_in country_cn country_jp country_de country_fr country_gb country_it country_es
Learning: Flashcards European Capitals Sinhala Basics Spanische Monatsnamen