country_tz: page_travel_title Countries_World > africa > country_tz

Worldwide travel and language community
Learn Languages FAST!     Learn SPANISH!     Learn FRENCH!     Learn ITALIAN!     Learn CHINESE!

country_tz (Flag)

Tanzania is a country in East Africa bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north, Rwanda Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west, and Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique to the south. The country's eastern border lies on the Indian Ocean.

The country is divided into 26 regions, 5 on the semi-autonomous islands of Zanzibar and 21 on the mainland in the former Tanganyika

The head of state is President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete elected in 2005. Since 1996, the official capital of Tanzania has been Dodoma where Parliament and some government offices are located. Between independence and 1996, the main coastal city of Dar es Salaam served as the country's political capital. Today, Dar es Salaam remains the principal commercial city of Tanzania and the de facto seat of most government institutions. It is the major seaport for the country and its landlocked neighbours.

The name Tanzania derives from the names of the two states, Tanganyika and Zanzibar that united in 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar which later the same year was renamed the United Republic of Tanzania.
view_member_country_from country_tz

view_member_country_living country_tz

page_country_forum_latest country_tz

© 2019 ALOOHA
lang_eng  lang_deu  

Languages: lang_cmn lang_spa lang_eng lang_deu lang_fra lang_ita
Countries: country_us country_in country_cn country_jp country_de country_fr country_gb country_it country_es
Learning: Flashcards European Capitals Sinhala Basics Spanische Monatsnamen